“When I sit dow…

“When I sit down at my wheel to make pots, I think about how they will be used. I’ll make a wider bowl for pasta, a taller mug for tea and maybe a vase for my zinnias. A variety of pots for life’s varied needs.

I think about how food will look presented in my pottery. Black and white bulls eyes, turquoise checkerboards and lots of stripes augment the simple pots I make. I try to bring something of an urban sensibility to traditional forms and techniques.” – Courtney Martin

Leave a Reply

