Food and Pottery – Week 4

Uncategorized

Food and Pottery - Week 4

Powisset Farm CSA week four included peas (snap and shelling types), garlic scapes, more strawberries and escarole!!

Each share at my CSA includes a distribution in the barn, and a pick your own. One year, it seemed to rain every Tuesday that I picked up so I went out to the field to pick very infrequently. Last year I ventured out to the fields if I wasn’t running late for some reason or another. This year, I’ve been allowing myself a little extra time so I can walk slowly down the dirt road, gaze at the flowers just starting to grow, check out the herb garden, laugh at the big pig in the field,

IMG_6012

sneak a peak into the seedling barn

IMG_5965

and walk out into the field to pick the fruit and veggies myself.

The Food and Pottery Connection for Week 4 ~

Blanch snap peas, slice raw carrots, radishes and kolrabi and arrange them on a (handmade, please) platter. This colorful collection needs a favorite dip – like ranch or thousand island dressing for the family to nosh on as they await dinner.

IMG_5931

Serve on my handmade platter with matching dip bowl. The fruit images on this platter come from pressing images from cloth napkins that belonged to my grandmother. This is a one of a kind piece.

4 thoughts on “Food and Pottery – Week 4

Leave a Reply

