Food and Pottery – Week 11

IMG_6710

Powisset Farm CSA week eleven included tomatoes – lots of them! in many sizes and shapes, color and taste…

There are cherry, heirloom, tomatillos… in reds, yellows and greens. Eat them right off the vine or with fork and knife.  They are delicious and one of the favorite items at farm stands this time of year.

IMG_6857

Tomatoes are picked from the vine and transported in pint and quart containers; larger varieties come home in bags. I set tomatoes on my window sill above my sink to ripen.

IMG_7127

Sliced and served with mozzarella cheese and drizzled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar is my favorite way to eat them.

IMG_7128

Eating them with a dip is second.  They make a colorful presentation!

2757350137_74e0bb3475

Baked or roasted in the fall – delicious!

IMG_7018

The Food and Pottery Connection for Week 11 ~ A basket for tomato collecting, displaying and storing.

This basket is a larger version of my Easter baskets. It is the final piece of my Farmer’s Bounty collection. I sort my ideas into collections as my way to interpret and understand the world around me. Farmer’s Bounty is a group of work inspired by this summer’s experience at my csa farm as a shareholder. The colors are symbolic of the earth from which the bounty comes from. The pieces make reference to nature. All are functional and evoke the farm to table connection.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

