Spinning Top Series – a Custom Art Framing & Gallery 9 exclusive

Spinning Top Series - a Custom Art Framing & Gallery 9 exclusive

Transitions are difficult for me. I find myself all over the place, literally and figuratively. I’m wound up and then my feet hit the ground and I’m spinning off in all directions like a toy top. September is always a time when transitions seem to be happening all the time… school, schedules, seasonal changes and a time when I have to kick it into high gear to produce work for fall and holiday sales.

This is how the “Spinning Top” work came to be.

spinning tops series fall 2013

Sitting on my potters wheel and spinning is a very soothing act to me. I”m centering the clay and myself at the same time. Feeling the wet clay in my hands must be how a gardener or farmer feels when they sink their hands into the warm dirt on a summer morning… bliss and wonder.

spinning tops

throwing

IMG_7091

trimmed and ready for bisque firing

IMG_7219

glazed and ready for the electric kiln

IMG_7347

sanded, washed and priced – ready for delivery to the gallery

Spinning Top series are exclusive to Custom Art Framing & Gallery 9 located at 45 Central Street in downtown Norwood, MA. They are open Monday through Saturday with evening events on the first Friday of each month.

One comment

Leave a Reply

