April Events

April Events

During the month of April, my cooperative studio, Potters Place readies the studio for our bi annual show and sale. This event is a three day show that takes place May 2,3 and 4. There is a lot to do in April.  Members must adhere to strict deadlines to finish up their pottery so there will be no unglazed work in the studio. We shut down the kilns mid month and clean the studio top to bottom.

glazing basketsI’ve been finishing up some pieces in my home studio to dry for the last bisque run on Sunday.  But today the rain has stopped and that means perfect weather for glazing, so I’ll take advantage of this and head to Potters Place to glaze some bisque ware. I do all my glazing and firing at my cooperative studio, Potters Place, but throwing and creating are done in my home studio.  I find this a nice combination.

IMG_9968

April also brings another Kids Clay class… My students created baskets in “Think Spring!” March class and will have an opportunity to “celebrate mothers and fathers” in April’s class. I fire my Kids Clay pieces at Potters Place, but classes take place in Westwood when families sign their students up through the Westwood Recreation Department.

IMG_9973

I will host my first trunk show of 2014 on Saturday, April 12th from 12-3PM at the Dedham Square Artist Guild.  I’m excited to offer the opportunity to purchase my baskets for Easter (Sunday, April 20th) as well as other pottery for hostess gifts and serving options. The Dedham Square Artist Guild is located in Dedham Square at 553 High Street.

Leave a Reply

