Happy Easter ~ Handmade Baskets

IMG_9722 Every year, I like to welcome in spring with herb markers and baskets.  This year, the baskets worked well with my spring collection: Turks and Caicos.

I make my baskets by combining two techniques: wheel throwing and hand building.  The baskets are thrown as bowls on my pottery wheel.  This year I added a split rim for glaze pooling.

When the clay is setting up, I roll some coils and then stamp them with a basket weave pattern.

glazing basketsWhen ready, I squish in the sides of the bowl and attach the handles.  I dry them very slowly over the next few days.  Then finish them off with a pony roller and a push to indent the bottom.

The baskets are fired in a bisque before they are able to be glazed. I use a brown glaze to accent the pattern on the handle, then glazed them in my Turks and Caicos color palette of soft green and blues. Once fired for the second time, the baskets are sanded on the bottom and hand washed where I check for any imperfections.

IMG_0029

The baskets are photographed, priced and added into inventory.

The baskets were delivered to the Dedham Square Artist Guild, located in Dedham, Ma just in time for my trunk show last weekend.

IMG_0121There are three baskets left and they are currently for sale at the Dedham Guild.  Once in the Guild, you will find many things to fill your basket with – like handcrafted eggs by Cindy Mootz; Easter cards by Kerry Hawkins; jewelry by Melanie Guerra, Barbara Trainer and Jill Barry, as well as the first book by illustrator artist, Marietta Apollonio entitled “A Curious Alphabet for Curious People”, and so much more.

The guild is open 12-6 Weds-Saturday;11-2 on Sundays but THIS Sunday it will be closed for Easter.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

