Trips inspire collections ~ MFA with Cousin Betsy

photoAfter a long time emailing, cousin Betsy and I finally got together for a visit.  We met at the Museum of Fine Arts Boston, the perfect place for two artists to reconnect.  We looked at art; we talked about art; we talked about family.  It was a perfect day.

IMG_9623It took me a long time to process this visit.  I finally settled on an image of a carved panel on the front door of the Huntington Avenue entrance to the Museum of Fine Arts Boston. I felt it symbolized what had happened that day and where a door had opened.

IMG_9627My interpretation took the form of a large square plate with three smaller plates.  The image of the door panel is carved into the clay, the center is painted and dots are like compass points. Little crisscross bowls complete the Betsy Collection.

IMG_9628When I think about this day, the first image that pops into my head is seeing Betsy by the doorway. She turns to me and I notice how blue her eyes are and then how excited I am to to see her. We opened the door to the museum and the art surrounded us.

IMG_9630The Betsy Collection was complete when I received an email from the Museum of Fine Arts this spring announcing MFA Director Malcolm Rogers’ retirement.  Notice the carved door panels. He’s ready to exit from these doors.

02. Malcolm Rogers opening doors (2) small crop.showcase_2I’ve been a member of the Museum of Fine Arts for at least 25 years.  I’ve watched the MFA move from the only game in town to having to compete with the contemporary ICA and stoic Isabella Stewart Gardener Museum, just to name few of the Boston Giants.  The transition was led by Malcolm Rogers and he succeeded in ways that make me proud to be a member.  The carved door panel appears symbolic as the place where Rogers with leave from; for me, it is symbolic as the place to enter and begin anew.

3 comments

  1. You have combined art and philosophy!Your message to me is “.Even if a door closes,you can open it again for a new adventure in your artistry or in your life.” The Betsy collection has a depth of meaning for me as I was a long time member of the MFA!.
    Sarasota Kate

Leave a Reply

