Baskets

Uncategorized

Every year when spring rolls around, I create clay baskets.  They symbolize new life, growth, Easter, spring, childhood, flowers and more.  The design varies from year to year making them fun to collect.

IMG_3514This year, my basket inspiration comes from this beautiful silver basket that I’ve had for many years.  I love the way the rim undulates and the handle rises up.  It’s a lovely size for jewelry or as a candy bowl.

IMG_9478

This past year, I participated in a workshop, hosted by Potters Place, with Delaney Wise.  Delaney is a ceramic artist and teacher at Harvard.  She taught us many things including how to create an undulating rim.  I thought this technique might work well this year’s baskets.IMG_3052 My form starts on the potter’s wheel as a bowl with a thickened rim.

IMG_3055

Cutting the rim deliberately and then removing those pieces produces an area that can be softened and then manipulated.

IMG_3056 When I find the shape I like, the bowl is removed from the wheel and squished to make ready for the basket handles.

IMG_3058 I created a few new stamps and this one felt right on my baskets… a little flower.IMG_3326I hand pull my handles and attach them to the leather hard clay.  The stamp acts as decoration and added assurance that the handle is attached securely to the vessel.

IMG_3328This year’s baskets are ready for eggs, plants, candy or treasures.  They are for sale at the Dedham Square Artist Guild in Dedham Square.  Hop over to get yours! Happy Spring!

IMG_3533

One thought on “Baskets

Leave a Reply

