Flowers

inspiration, New work, shop local, summer
Flowers

“Flowers”: a summer collection installed at the Dedham Square Artist Guild located in historic Dedham Square, Dedham, MA

In the summer months, I enjoy working with low fire clay. A lower firing temperature allows me to utilize brighter colors that can “burn out” when the temperature in a ceramics kiln is higher.  I began creating my “Flowers” collection while working on my summer art classes curricula.

I spent time at my local library, pouring over books to come up with new and exciting ideas for my students and found myself interested in learning more about certain flowers.

Vessels were hand built and ready for surface decoration. Slips, textures, carving and underglaze ceramic paints were used to create imagery; low fire glazes completed the vision.

“Flowers” can be functional for bouquets in water, food for a party; or, individual pieces can be hung on a wall or displayed on a tabletop.  My ceramics are meant to be picked up and explored.  Textured surfaces to the finger tip are a delight. Three dimensional art begs to be touched, picked up and interacted with.  Ceramics is functional art.

NqxfJ0duT86Co%dYl2RHiw

Please visit the Dedham Square Artist Guild to purchase a piece from “Flowers”.  Each piece is one of a kind.  The collection is small but varied.  Each piece stands alone but works well together.  “Flowers” is perfect for the collector and just right for a wedding gift.

Leave a comment